This American Life

I was recently watching this american life and saw some valentines day episodes. I probably can never write what was told in the radio show.

The exact feelings that one feels and can feel those in the voices of the people one hears. The exact words that describe the feeling. I sensed a feeling of being related too and when the words describe what I feel.

There are 2 distinct feelings that I remember. One feeling is the feel of love and when it envelopes us we all feel and submerge in that feeling. The sense that the person is always with us and we see them everywhere and we want to share everything with them. The episode I saw had that feeling and I could sense that through his voice. The pain and the love very clear and simple.

The second is the feeling of living with someone who has drifted away from you. The feeling of loneliness and the distinct silence in the presence of the person you don’t want to be with. The feeling of sitting in a room with someone you are not comfortable with being in the same space.

The links to the episode are:
http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/203/recordings-for-someone

http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/349/valentines-day-2008?act=1

I also listen to others from the series and was mostly looking for the romance section.

The power of recordings and when one listens to them in the future, it is so powerful and it reminds one of where I was and where I am now and what I wished for them and what am I doing now. It also gives a sense of feeling of your past and that you are all that is not just now, but a history and a making of the past. The recordings is you in history and your own history.

I am thinking, I will make some recording for M about what I feel about her and why I am doing the things I am doing and my reasons. I probably may not be able to explain to M the exact scenario and what I feel. it will help M relate to me and understand me. Spoken words and spoken words to someone can get easily derailed. Either one does not speak all that needs to be spoken, for the right time to speak it or don’t find the right words. Written and recorded data has no such burden and have more power and possibility.

One thought on “This American Life

Leave a Reply

