Books I have read..

M and I land up at barnes and noble bookstore almost everyweek. It is part of a week’s way to enjoy ice-cream ( M eats the strawberry sorbet and me the vanilla and pomegranate with mango, strawberry, blueberry and almonds). So, during our trips to the B&N bookstore, I noticed this one book called “Home” by Toni Morrision. 

Thoughts about “Home” by Toni Morrison – The beginning is great and some parts of it is amazing and it is deep for about half the book. But after that it disappoints or rather could not tie the amazing beginning to the end. Somewhere it losses the depth and the ending is quite normal. I like the size of the book and the cover and how it starts..

Thoughts on The Bluest Eyes by Toni Morrision. The books is good and not the best book or something I would recommend. But the book is good. I like the description of why women behave with their kids with hard/cruel/ignored behavior. I completely understand what happens. There is this one particular paragraph in the book that is quite well written. Page 170 and copying “She had not lived by the sea all those years, listened to the wharfman’s song all the time. to spend her life in the soundless cave of elihue’s mind”. Probably this statement means a lot more to me than anyone else, resonates with my perception of my world of today. 

This is how I receive and consume a book. I have paragraphs and phrases and idealism and ideas and perceptions that I connect with and remember, mostly for a long time like years. The drawback in my approach is that I might completely miss the point of the book and hang on to something very tiny and minuscule aspect. 

 The next book in the queue is Mindy Kaling’s “Is everyone having fun without me”. Exactly my thoughts. This book is my birthday gift ! 

Leave a Reply

