Learning Photography

There are  tons of book and material and advice around taking photographs. I have kind of browsed and read few of them. I did not realize that the basics concepts eluded me all this while. I concentrated more and more on the compositions and not on trying something to do with the manual setting of the camera. I would have to take about 20 pictures before I kind of got it right, changing the AV and Shutter speed setting multiple times. Now, it is fluke that it worked and I have the liberty to take as many pictures as I can and edit it later.

Few weeks ago, after reading a food blog that explained that pictures are key to a food blog, the basics of aperture, focal point and shutter speed concept and there relationship has sunk in. After that, I believe, I know what kind of change will be photograph undergo when I change the settings. I have a D90 nikon. Have is the photographs in manual mode and understanding what I was doing…

_DSC0322_DSC0160_DSC0591_DSC0266

There are shadows in the pine cone picture that I should have gotten rid off, but in general the object is in focus and the background is blur, which is a affect that makes the photo all the more nice.

And finally the bulb mode setting for the moon

_DSC0569

The food blog that helped me is  http://pinchofyum.com/

Highly recommending the food blog. They are the nicest people I have come across in terms of sharing information and their knowledge around. It was an eye opening read about the income they earn and the various contributing factors.

http://pinchofyum.com/tasty-food-photography

The example page that is listed in this website was enough for me to get started more solid than what I was before.

2 thoughts on “Learning Photography

  1. I really enjoyed how you added to your experiences to your subject discussions. I kept moving from category to category. I really liked Cars but the trip along Hwy 1 has been a dream of mine for a long time. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel, I am experiencing the world for the first time. My wandering and and going with the flow is a capture in this blog. Thanks for reading my blog, Donna.

      The US-1 trip was amazing experience and anyone who lives in California, should attempt it. I can’t say enough about how California coast makes you feel, I truly feel lucky and fortunate to have had made this trip with my daughter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

